So…a little about me — Part 3

So….The newest big thing to happen to me is that I’ve become a published author.  Now, before you go looking me up on Amazon, I am a part of a collaborative project called The Motherhood Diaries by Reshonda Tate Billingsley.  She is one of my favorite authors.  She put out a post on Facebook back in August calling for stories from moms parenting in the new millennium.  If you read my last post, you know that I wrote about the girl.  Well, imagine my surprise when November 5th, I got an email from Reshonda’s assistant telling me to sign the contract to have my work included.  I was completely shocked!  I thought, wait…what?  I did not even know it had been accepted until that moment!  As I read the contract, I thought that it was perhaps something that was sent to everyone who submitted a story.  I later found out that over 200 entries were submitted.  She chose 22.  I sincerely wondered HOW mine had been chosen.  Then I thought, “maybe it’s in a section on how NOT to be included…”

Hey..I have issues alright!  I was emotional when I wrote my story and sent it in on the last day, but not in a million years could I have guessed that my work would be chosen.  Coincidentally (or not), I had just started as a participant in Nanowrimo, which is National Novel Writing Month which happens every November.  Participants are challenged to write a complete novel in 30 days.  I saw the post on two friends’ Facebook posts on November 1st.  When I checked it out, I thought, “hmm…why not!”  I’d always joked about the people talking in my head and that I should write a book.  I never took myself seriously and never thought I would.  But seeing it presented like that in a challenge, I was ready to try my hand at it and so I started that very night.

So, getting word almost a week into my first novel that I was going to be a published author sooner than my first book, I was uber excited.  Of course, I remembered what I wrote, and started to get scared.  Once it was published people would know my business!  I was so afraid.  What will they think?  What will they say?  Will they think I’m a bad mom?  Will my mom be angry?  I kept it bottled up for about a month.  I told my mom, who happens to be an English major, retired high school Language Arts teacher and current Writing professor at a university back home.  She was absolutely thrilled.

My chapter in The Motherhood Diaries is called Diary of a Struggling Mom.  The book was published on April 9th and is doing pretty good.  I’m excited.  There will be more information about book signings and things of that nature as soon as we get some information finalized.  I’m loving this new chapter in my life.

As for my book that I started in November…I finished it.  I’ve been tweaking it ever since.  I hired an editor and got some precious feedback and I am feverishly working to finish.  I am hoping to have my book published in the next twelve months.  There are so many stories left to tell.  A lady at my church was ALWAYS telling me, “you should write a book.”  I had heard that so many times but I always met it with, “Oh, I’m not a writer, that’s my mom and my sister.”    She asked me one day, “Have you read the things you write on Facebook?  You have a way with words.  You have a gift.”  I told her that I had been praying about my purpose and what God’s plan was for this chapter in my life.  She was the 2nd person after I’d prayed about that to come to me about writing.  So, I’m flowing along with what God has to say!  So, until the book with my name on the cover comes out, you should definitely check out The Motherhood Diaries.  It has my name in the Table of Contents!  That in itself is exciting.  I have read it cover to cover and I swear, I read the other stories from the other authors, many of whom are already published or are already so prolific in their own right…that I STILL wonder how mine was chosen.  The only answer I can come up with is that it was God’s plan.  So..who am I to mess with His plan.

So…the next time you wanna make God laugh, tell Him your plans.  I know he is CRACKING UP at mine.

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

2 thoughts on “So…a little about me — Part 3

Leave a Reply

