So…a little bit about me — Part 4

So…by now, you’ve probably figured out that I’m a little off.  That’s not QUITE true.  I’m perfectly sane.  Well, as sane as a self-proclaimed sane person can be.  I deal with a lot.  I have gone through a lot, so I need an escape.  We all do right?  Well, as my budget is one that will not allow me to go on extravagant…shoot…REGULAR trips, I have to escape in print.  Soooooooooo….I absolutely, posatutely LOVE to read.  I love books like a teenaged boy loves video games!  I know when they are coming out months in advance like a movie buff keeps up with movies coming out!  I pay attention.

It all started when I was in second grade.  My librarian, Theresa Hall, took a special interest in me for some reason.  I don’t know what my teacher, Mrs. Bullard told her, but something made her take GREAT STRIDES to help me find something I would like in the library.  I was 8 years old at the time and I just remember hearing my teacher say that someone needed to “light a fire” under my behind.  I’m pretty sure I wasn’t supposed to hear that, but I think she was calling me slow!  Anyway, Mrs. Hall, the librarian, helped me find Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary in the library.  I absolutely LOVED THAT BOOK!  I fell in love with series books then because I wanted to know everything there was to know about Ramona and her family.  I read everything I could find by Beverly Cleary!  I was disappointed when there were no more Ramona books, but I moved on to The Babysitter’s Club Series by Ann Martin and Sweet Valley Twins by Francine Paschal.  These kept me busy for awhile because there were just so many books!  We lived within walking distance of the library and my sister, two neighborhood friends and me would walk to the library frequently to check out and return books!  I was hooked.

I have an ugly habit of finding an author I like and reading all of that author’s books.  I’ve been that way since the beginning!  As an adult, it hasn’t changed.  I certainly have an appreciation for the written word.  I say it’s an ugly habit because I should be open to variety.  I remember one particular author that I was reading during high school.  Her books were not series books, but they were suspense/mystery/thriller types.  Anyway, I was halfway through one (maybe about the 7th or 8th one of hers), and I realized that I knew EXACTLY what was going to happen!  I had to keep reading, but I knew all of what was going to happen.  I was disappointed because it was so predictable.  Reluctantly, I got the next one, and sure enough, I knew what would happen VERY early in the book.  I did something I never do.  I skipped ahead.  When it was obvious that I’d written the book (well surely I had because I knew what was going to happen right?), I put it down never to read that author again. I’ve learned that it’s okay to fall in love with an author, but be open to others.  Otherwise, you’ll get bored and forget all the good that there was!

One day, I’d like a library in my home and the means to fill it with any book that I want.  Some people don’t see the point in actually owning the books.  They feel that once they read the book, there’s no reason to still have it.  What’s the reason?  WELL DUH!  To read again when you get ready!  YES, I read and R E R E A D books!  I can’t help it.  Sometimes, I miss something.  I like to go back so I can see if I can find clues that what happened was going to happen!  It’s fun to do and sometimes, I have nothing left to read because a) I can’t afford to buy a new book, b) the book is too new to be in the library or c) I can’t get to the library!

I have a never ending To Be Read (TBR) list.  I am always seeing an ad for a book that intrigues me!  I read the synopsis and think I’m going to love it!  I read lots of blogs about books so that doesn’t help.  It only adds to the madness!  So, some of the things I post here may be book reviews, or some other madness about what I’m reading or want to read.  It’s part of who I am.  DEAL WITH IT!  The girl hates this about me.  She does NOT like to read.  I look at her and often wonder if they gave me the wrong kid at the hospital.  How could a child of mine HATE to read?  Is this God’s way of torturing me!?

So…the next time you see a book that looks like it’s interesting, pick it up and think of me.  Buy me one and you one too!  It’ll come back to you 1o fold!  The Lord loves a cheerful giver!

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

Leave a Reply

