So…I’m annoyed when…

So, taking a note from one of my favorite blogs Books, Writing and Life by Daphine Robinson, I’m going to tell you some things that really, REALLY annoy me.  These are things I have observed in my years.  I work in a call center and there are some things that people do when calling a call center that irk the dickens out of me.  This idea came to me from Daphine’s two posts  A Few Things That Irritate Me Part 1 and A Few Things That Irritate Me Part 2.

Anyway, all day, when I’m on the phone, I am verbally assaulted by folks who are understandably (well, sometimes) upset.  But come on, chances are, the person on the phone is NOT who needs to have all the frustrations unloaded on them.  Sometimes, when something goes wrong, it is the fault of the agency.  Other times, it is the fault ENTIRELY of the customer.  Those are the ones who are the most belligerent.   These are the ones who try to talk over me when I am calmly explaining what the next steps are.  These are the ones who make me want to scream and disconnect the call.  Just yesterday, I was called every name from the sun to the moon that was not a word that you want your pastor to hear you say!  Unfortunately, I lost my cool and the um…call was disconnected.

So…I’m annoyed when:

  • I am asked a question, and I say, “I don’t know” and the person repeats the question or rephrases the question (like I’m stupid).  I STILL DON’T KNOW!
  • I am asking a question and you interrupt to answer the question before I get to the end.  Doing this might cause you to lose out on the big prize…(don’t believe me?  Watch Family Feud!)
  • I ask for your social security number…and you say dash as if it is an actual digit of the social.  By the same token, when I’m given a number, I find it simply deplorable to say 1 before giving the area code and phone number.  Irks me to no end.  We know there are dashes and ones!  (though I do find it hilarious that people continually try to send the faxes without putting the 1 in front of the 888…maybe we do need to say the 1).
  • I absolutely, posaTUTELY, HATE when I ask for your name and you spell it!  I did not say, “spell your name.”  I said, “What is your name?”  I realize you think that it is important that I know that you are Brittnie with an I E, but umm..that’s not going to change the way I pronounce it.  I promise, I’m still going to say it the same as Brittnie, Brittany or Brittnee…
  • I ask for your date of birth.  You say, “Three Four Seven Seven.”  What is that?  Your pin number?  A date has a month, day and year.  Months have NAMES!  USE THEM!
  • Please don’t tell me what my computer says.  You don’t know.  I see it.  You can’t.  Chances are, I’m staring out the window and telling you this information based on a memory from far far away.   What I say goes!
  • I am doing the best I can to help you and you get annoyed, interrupt me, talk over me and ignore what I’ve said.  THEN you say, “Well, I am a minister,” or “I’ve WORKED customer service,” or some other irrelevant fact about your current situation.  That has no bearing on what I’m telling you.  As far as you having worked customer service…well..I’m not doing customer service.  I’m being as nice as I possibly can even though you INSIST on yelling, interrupting or whatever else you’re doing to annoy me.  Let’s just say, just as there are ways for a person in my position to behave, there are also ways for a person in the customer position to behave!
  • Along the same lines as above, telling me your current position does not mean you know more than me especially about the job at hand.  “I worked at XYZ company for 8 years.  I know how it goes.”  Umm..no..you don’t.  Chances are XYZ company, while similar to BMK company, is NOT the same.  Also, saying “Well, I’m a RPQ major…”..well..what does that have to do with the tea in China?  Do you also tell your doctor that you once majored in Biology when you’re dissatisfied with her solution?  Doesn’t matter.
  • I hear you umm…handling business…in the bathroom!  UGH!  Just nasty!  At least have the courtesy to mute me!
  • You’ve called me to get a phone number, an address, a website or some other information that needs to be written down.  I say, “The address/phone number/website is…”  You say, “Oh wait! Lemme get something to write with!”  Seriously?  You thought you were going to remember the whole thing?  You had to go look at your social security number to tell it to me.  Really?  Umm..okay..fine…
  • You spout of a series of statements and pause.  Somehow, I’m expected to know the question you want to ask.  I sit waiting for your question while you sit waiting for me to answer what you haven’t asked.  Mi name’s not Madame Cleo mon! Ask the daggum question like a grown up!
  • It’s five oh three.  I am taking your call.  You say, “I know it’s time for you to go, but I just have one more question.”  Five questions and eight minutes later, “Alright, I know y’all already closed, but I just have to ask you one mo’ thang.”

I try to be nice.  I really do.  Sometimes, it takes everything in me not to scream and shout and let it all out!  There are days I want to chunk the computer out the window then I realize that if I did that, I’d have to pay for the computer and the window and I’d likely be out of a job…so…I’ll keep listening to the foolishness on the phone…

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

7 thoughts on “So…I’m annoyed when…

  1. Soooooo…the name speller that is me and also with giving my date of birth that is me as well. But otherwise I agree with what you are saying. What annoys me to no end is when you have to give me your life story before you ask me a question. I don’t really want to know the history to your problem of why you couldn’t attend class, just ask the ding dang question. 🙂

  2. Um, so if you ask me my name I spell D-a-p-h-i-n-e because I ABSOLUTELY HATE being called Daff-nee. It’s Daphine–rhymes with caffeine. But since it irks you Customer Service people, I guess I’ll stop doing it. LOL

    Thanks for the blog shout!

    • lol….it’s different if I ask for the spelling…but today..someone spelled WAY when giving the address! Seriously?? ugh! I have never met a street type spelled whey or weigh….(folks like messin’ with me!) lol…But I feel you on hating to be called the wrong name…my name is Kimyatta and folks INSIST on calling me Kenyatta…or worse…KIMBERLY! (though one day, I had a man call me Patsy on the phone…that was pretty funny…)

Leave a Reply

