So…what defines you?

The other night, one of my sisters of the pen, Crystal Brown Tatum, replied to my post about the trip to Houston for the Motherhood Diaries and kindly informed me that my “struggles…do not define” my worth!  That struck a chord with me.  For so long, I’ve lived by other “struggles” and have always…ALWAYS been defined by them.  I’ve been defined by my skin color, my weight, my height, my family situation…just EVERYTHING.  While I am all those things, I should not be LIMITED by them.  I should not let them keep me from being who I was divinely created to be.

Psalm 139:14 (NIV) says, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  your works are wonderful,  I know that full well.”  Here, David is thanking God for how he made him.  Whatever it is, however it is God created him.  That in itself is a WONDERFUL thing.  I am continuing to try to embrace that.  Whoever, whatever, or however I am created, it is fantasmagorical because God created me that way.

Normally, my blogs are posted Sunday, Wednesday and Friday by 830 am.  The Virgo in me is having issues with this being late…but am I defined by that?  NO!  (Virgo begs to differ…might have to hit that invisible mosquito on her face).  ANYWAY, this post I had trouble writing because I really had to dig deep.  So, this morning, I was having a conversation with one of my prayer partners about purpose.  She was explaining to me that I am living my purpose.  Jokingly, I asked, “What’s my purpose here?” referring to my job.  She said, “This is just your job, Kim.  It does not define who you are.”  WHAA???  Oooh…okay…so again…what defines you?  It’s not your job!  It’s not your rate of pay!  It’s not that stupid performance evaluation!  You are you…the only you there is.

Find out what defines you.  Is it something that makes you cringe every time you think about it?  REALLY?  WELL CHANGE IT!  The more you focus on those negative things, guess what…that’s what you BECOME!  Proverbs 18:21 says, “The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.”  Translation?  Keep talking foolishness…that’s what you’ll become.  I learned that lesson a few short years ago…and my life is forever changed.  No…I don’t mean say, “I’m a millionaire” when you don’t have two nickels to rub together, but stop saying, “I’m broke.”  Change your mind.   It changes how you react and how you deal.  Before you know it, you’ll be walking around with a grand smile on your face all the time.  Folks won’t know WHAT hit you.  I do though.  It’s called P E A C E!  You should get you some…With that being said, I’ll sign off and share this wonderful graphic with you.  Here’s to changing your life.  Find out what makes you…YOU!  It’s not what anyone else thinks…it’s what you think.

Give up and live

What defines me?  Being the best me that I can be.  I’m not perfect, but I am human.  I will use prolific when I mean profound.  I will miss an apostrophe.  I will mispelle a word.  One thing I do know is that I am not defined by those things.  I’m blessed beyond measure.  That’s what I am.  For that, I am eternally grateful.

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

11 thoughts on “So…what defines you?

  1. Amen! I am reading Marianne Williamson’s The Law of Divine Compensation and you two are simpatico in your views. It’s been a great read thus far . . .

Leave a Reply

