So…music soothes the soul!

So…you know how I told you that I looooooooooove music and I wake up with a song most mornings…well…this isn’t the song I woke up with but it’s the song on my mind.  It’s called Grace by Tasha Cobbs.  The lyrics are simple.

God loves me.  Adores me.  Watches over me.  You are for me.  Grace loved me.  It’s not what I deserve.   And nothing that I’ve earned.  But daily, grace saves me.

If you haven’t heard this song, you should check it out here.  Yes.  It’s that simple.  Grace is just something God gives us his grace easily, and freely.  I think about all the times I have done something that in my mind would ensure that nothing good would ever happen to me again.  I think about all the times I’ve been counted out or dismissed because of whatever.  Then I remember God’s grace.   It’s because of his grace I’m still here.

Now, it might seem odd that I’m switching gears right here to change from Tasha Cobbs to talk about another artist, but in my mind, it’s related.  See, my favorite musical artist EVER is India.Arie.  Her new album Songversation came out this week.  I joked with a friend about the album and the next thing I knew, I had a gift card to purchase it!  WHAT?  SERIOUSLY?  I didn’t deserve it.  It’s not something I would live or die without, but this friend decided to gift it to me.  I’m so overwhelmed with gratitude that it’s ridiculous!   And of course…I absolutely LOVE the album.  There’s a song on there called Just Do You.  It’s so appropriate for this time in my life.

I know that I’m loved by all who know me, but I’m so blessed…simply overwhelmed.  It’s in the last few weeks that I realize that I have so many prayers being answered.  Things I’ve spoken in jest, things I’ve cried over in my spirit, things I’ve been seeking for years…prayers being answered.  I do often wonder if God hears my prayers or simply goes, “Oh…here SHE goes again…”.  Every now and then, I’m reminded that he not only hears my rushed, hurried, muttered or whispered prayers, but he answers them.  He my not be answering my prayers in the order in which they were received or in order of what I think is important (HA!) but they are being answered.

I said all that to say, I’m truly blessed.  When I downloaded that CD, I INSTANTLY fell in love.  The number 8 track on every single one of India’s CDs are usually ones I’m instantly drawn to.  This one was no different.  I think she must KNOW that the number 8 is magical.  Or at least it’s magical to me!  I was born on the 8th and so was my daughter!  Anyway, even though I’m in love with Moved By You…my favorite song on the CD is number 2…called Just Do You.  It is the newest song in my work out mix.  I love it.  It’s encouraging you to BE YOURSELF whoever that self is.  Inspiration is hitting me daily…I’ll have some left over when I don’t feel “inspired” but press on anyway.  Here are the lyrics for my favorite part of Just Do You.  Its the part typically classified as the bridge followed by the chorus:

If you create the game, then you create the rules.  And if you just be you there’s no way you can lose.  There’s a story waiting for you to write it.  There’s a treasure waiting for you to find it.  There’s a picture waiting for you to paint it.  There’s a dollar waiting for you to make it.

So whatchu waitin’ on?  Who are you waiting for?  If you don’t take a chance you’ll never know what’s in store.

Just do you!  Somebody’s got to be a star.  Just do you!  Somebody’s got to raise the bar.  Just do you!  Somebody’s got to change the game.  Just do you!  Today!

So…Just do you!

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

6 thoughts on “So…music soothes the soul!

  1. I see your MFP counter over there. Look at you! Think I’ll add mine too. More accountability.

    I love India’s stuff. I’m glad she’s back.

  2. Kimyatta Walker, I don’t wanna cry tonight before I go to bed!!! But it’s too late. GLORY HALLELUJAH! I was already full when I got home so I knew they would come. Anywho, I love India’s album. I typically don’t know names of songs, I just know I like them. When I fell in love with, yes 2 & 8, I looked at my phone to see the names. I’m pretty sure you know why Just Do You speaks volumes to me. Moved by you…a beautiful melody that warms my spirit.

Leave a Reply

