So…dinner is boring!

Conversation with The Girl

The Girl:  Mom, what’s for dinner?

Me:  Chicken and Rice…

The Girl:  Again?

So…of course, I get the screw face!  Girl!  I’m doing the best I can with what I’ve got!  So…what you’re saying is that you’re tired of chicken and rice?  *sigh*  UGH!  Part of me wants to call her ungrateful because there are lots of kids who would KILL for chicken and rice…then…I figure…she’s bored with it..simply BORED…unfortunately, I don’t know what else to cook!

Chicken is inexpensive as is rice!  I try to change up the recipes!  I really do.  What’s funny though, is if we had “Chinese food”…CHICKEN AND RICE nightly…there’d be no complaint…only my kid I tell ya.  I guess since it’s sweet chicken and fried rice, she’s alright.  *sigh*  Can I protest?  What if I protest and say I’m not cooking that she has to fend for herself?  Will that make me a bad mom?  I mean, if what I cook isn’t appreciated, shouldn’t I just stop?  Then I’d have to let her cook because there are no convenience foods in the house…like chicken nuggets or hot pockets or anything like that…so, she’d have to unthaw the chicken or ground turkey…and cook the rice or pasta or beans…that’ll show her right?

*sigh*

Punk.  Alright FINE…I’ll keep looking for different recipes but she better learn…be grateful for what you have.  It could be worse.  We could be eating beans and white bread.  Maybe I should help her see how much worse it could be…maybe we won’t eat for a week!  Oh…wait..that’d be bad…then they’d call the folks on me for real!  Alright…alright!  ALRIGHT!  I’ll cook.  I’ll let her have the option.  You can either eat it or not.  Then, it can’t be said I didn’t feed her.

Then, the daggum television commercials don’t help!  Do you know that at every commercial break, 75% of the commercials are food commercials?  Dude seriously?  Cakes, cookies, pies, pizzas, burgers, fries, yogurt, pistachios…UGH!  So much focus on food!  On this weight loss journey, I think a lot about food.  I used to think of that as a bad thing like…I was obsessed with food, but it’s not that.  I just have to plan food so that I can make good choices.   I try to do that for her…but it’s alright…she’ll thank me for it later…

I do see why it’s been said that watching television is not good if you’re trying to lose weight.  I’m watching The Golden Girls and of course they are sitting in the daggum kitchen around a chocolate cake and slicing it and sharing it and that did not HELP ME!  UGH!  Okay, I have to reprogram my brain if I insist on watching television.  The other option is to stop watching television all together.  Yeah.  That’ll do it!

I’ll figure out something.  In the meantime, the next time you’re watching television, and can fast forward through the commercials, do that.  At least you won’t wreck your diet by ordering, pizza, Snicker’s and soda.

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “So…dinner is boring!

  1. LOL…no you won’t be a bad mother if your refused to cook. My kids know if they complain to much this mama will go on strike quickly which means I won’t cook and they better not cook either, they are only allowed sandwiches and chips. No stove or microwave can be turned on and no silverware can be used so they have to pray for plastic utensils in case they need to spread the mayo or mustard.

Leave a Reply

