So…we’re breaking up!

Dear Fear,

I’m writing to let you know that we’re done.  Our toxic relationship is over.  Finished.  Kaput!  I want nothing more to do with you ever.  I’ve participated in your foolery far too long.  I’ve let you convince me of things that were not true for far too long.  You’ve told me, I wasn’t good enough.   You’ve told me I wasn’t pretty enough.  You’ve told me I wasn’t tall enough.  You’ve told me I wasn’t smart enough.  You’ve told me I was too fat.

I even gave birth to your children:  Fear of Lack, Fear of Rejection, Fear of Failure.  You can have full custody of them.  I’m signing over my parental rights.  Oh..wait..they are grown!  I birthed them a long time ago…I’m letting go.

You may kiss the right side, bottom half of my grand ole derriere!  I’ve had enough.

You see…”You held me down but I got up!  Already brushing off the dust!  You hear my voice?  You hear that sound? Like thunder gonna shake the ground.  You held me down but I got up!  Get ready ’cause I’ve had enough!  I see it all!  I see it now!  I’ve got the eye of the tiger!  A Fighter!  Dancing through the fire ’cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar!  Louder!  Louder than a lion ’cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar!”  Yeah…Katy Perry had it right.  I think she wrote it especially for me.

From now on, I’ve got a new beau.  His name is Joy!  I’ve been seeing him on the side.  Not full time of course…but I’d been sneaking to see him.  Why?  He gets me!  He makes me feel wonderful.  He lets me be me.  He encourages me to be me.  As a matter of fact, he’s the reason that I can write you this letter.  That’s right, he helped me pen it.  It’s been a long time coming.  So…he’s now my full time love.  I’ll not have to cheat on him.  Like I said…he lets me be me.  He doesn’t mock me.  He encourages me.  He speaks life over me.

I am ready.  It’s been a long time coming.  See ya later boo!  Ooooh…wait…you won’t…our ties are forever obliterated!

In the infamous words of Martin Payne…”GET TA STEPPIN’!”

Signed,

The girl who is no longer plagued by you…Kimyatta

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

P.S.  Check out the official video for Katy Perry’s Roar.  Get inspired.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CevxZvSJLk8

15 thoughts on “So…we’re breaking up!

  1. AWESOME Post!!!!! We all have to dispel fear from my life. With me it is a repeated dance we have. But 2 Timothy 1:7 says: God did not give us a spirit of fear but He gave us power, love and a sound mind.

  2. such powerful words this is just awesome should be in a card or letter form for all to read and be encouraged by cause he live with all of us!!! again awesome.

  3. Pingback: So…who’s that girl? | So Says Kimyatta

Leave a Reply

