So…let’s try something new…

I want to share something with you from my friend Sunflower

When I Did Not Know Your Name

A Poem by Sunflower

I liked it better when I did not know your name.

I didn’t long to hear the rich sound of your voice.

I didn’t long to inhale your intoxicating fragrance.

I didn’t notice when you would come and go.

You were just another soul existing in the same plane as me.

I liked it better when I did not know your name.

I didn’t want to feel your smooth skin beneath my fingers.

I didn’t wait for your calls in the wee hours of the morning.

I didn’t wonder if you were thinking about me when I was thinking of you.

You were just someone in the crowded room watching, just like me.

I liked it better when I did not know your name.

I didn’t remember your eyes staring back at me in the dark.

I didn’t need to find a reason to talk to you.

I wouldn’t be disappointed if you didn’t do what you said you would.

You were just another trying to make a way.

Now that I know your name,

I’m constantly reminded of the mistakes I’ve made.

I’m repeatedly regretful of the choices we chose.

I’m left with the burden of knowing what I know.

You’re now just another who made it clear that you’re not worth my tears.

I liked it better when I did not know your name.

top sunflower

Sound off in the comments.  Let her know what you think!

Until next time,

Hakuna Matata

One thought on “So…let’s try something new…

Leave a Reply

