So…Love Just Isn’t Enough – A Poem by Sunflower

Love Just Isn’t Enough

A Poem by Sunflower

When dinner is needed and there’s no more chicken

When the kisses of the kids are the only affection I’m given

When tears on my lips are my only memory

I try to taste your love but it just isn’t enough

When the cabinets are bare because your check didn’t come home.

When the lights need fixing and I can’t reach the box

When the cable is off and the kids want to watch cartoons

I try to see your love but it just isn’t enough

When the cake in the oven has cooked just enough

When the garbage needs to be taken out

When that bottle of Eternity tips over on the dresser

I try to smell your love but it just isn’t enough

When the baby cries and is inconsolable

When the alarm goes off and your side of the bed is empty

When the phone rings and I hear her voice entangled with yours.

I try to hear your love but it just isn’t enough

When the night is cold and I wantyou beside me

When my desire is high and I want you inside me

When my heart aches from the cuts of your lies

I try to touch your love but it just isn’t enough

Sometimes love just isn’t enough

Not enough to bring you home

Not enough to keep me warm

Not enough to…

top sunflower

2 thoughts on “So…Love Just Isn’t Enough – A Poem by Sunflower

Leave a Reply

