So…The Scale-a is a Li-YA!

So…this weight loss journey is not for the faint of heart. Each and every day, a person on this journey has to overcome new obstacles. It is never just living.

In the month of March, my prayer partner and I fasted. One of the things I prayed about on the fast was making my weight loss journey more automatic or at least something that wasn’t such a big fight each and every day. For me, that almost always involves what I put into my mouth. So, the fast helped me to do that. It amazes me how much “stuff” is in the food we buy each day. We eat it without a second thought most times. I sincerely wish I didn’t have an aversion to farms, dirt and all that stuff, because I’d sincerely consider raising ALL of my own food!

ANYWAY…I said all that to say…my scale and I are not good friends…It LIES! I weighed on one Friday and the Monday that followed, my scale was EXACTLY ten pounds more than it was on Friday. I know that I did not for real gain ten pounds in 3 days. The culprit had to be water retention. So…as I examined my diet, I found that yeast had been the culprit of water retention…yup…I had not been eating things with yeast as ingredients and as soon as I did…my body retaliated and held onto water like a desert nomad! So…I’m working on that.

In the meantime…I’d like to celebrate some non-scale victories. You know…these are things that let you know that you’re making progress even when your scale says the opposite. Remember…your scale is just telling you about your relationship with gravity…lol.

So…here’s what I’m celebrating. Since last May (since that’s when I started writing about this journey), I have gone down 4 pants sizes, 3-5 shirt sizes (depends on what sizing chart you’re using…) and 3 dress sizes.

I’ve also mastered walking 3 miles without stopping. I’ve also reached the 5K distance. I participated in a Breast Cancer Walk with some friends and the coordinators told us that it was a 3.5 mile walk and I was so nervous! I walked with my friends, and it only ended up being 3.1 miles. I walked the whole way and slowed down only to pick up a bottle of water.

In the moments leading up to the walk, my friends and I had photos taken. In one of the photos, Kerrie suggested that we take one jumping. My first thought was, “Lord, everyone else is gonna be off the ground and I’ll just have bent knees with my feet on the floor.” I was so very distraught at the thought but I decided to give it a good try….and low and behold…I JUMPED! Like…I have evidence…on the photo, there is a shadow beneath my feet! So…what’d I do? Did I celebrate with cake?? Nope…I went and bought myself a jump rope.

20140405-163401.jpg

Photo is the courtesy of Hyacinth Wright (an AMAZING photographer…and all around wonderful person…)…

I also came across some amazing recipes that are flavorful and introduced me to some healthier eating that don’t make me feel like I’ve missed anything. Yum…yum..and yum!

I’ve also been keeping my blood sugar in check, blood pressure down and I found out yesterday that my cholesterol is down since February! Wooo hooooo!!! Dancing…dancing….DANCING! I’m doing alright…

Now…the next victory I’ll celebrate will be finishing an “official” 5K in record time. I reached my fastest walking time and it was a 19 minute mile. So, I’m interested in decreasing that time. I also plan to increase my distance. Back when I was seeing Dr. Him, he made the snide comment, “well, you’d lose a lot of weight if you walked 5 miles a day.” At the time, I could barely walk 1 mile. HA! If he could see me now! It’s been nearly a year since I last visited that practice with Drs. Him and Her. Considering the diabetes diagnosis, I figured I’d have at least been contacted regarding an appointment…but erm…uh…no! Ah well…I probably wouldn’t have answered their call anyway.

So…while my scale is holding steady with the same number from two weeks ago, my body, my actions and my internal systems are telling a different story. I’m not where I want to be, but I’m so on my way to where I should be! That’s exciting. The end of the month, I’ll be weighing in for the final time for a challenge I took up with a local hospital called Get Healthy West Georgia. The goal is to have lost 10% of my weight from the initial weigh in. Let’s see!

Until Next time,

Hakuna Matata

7 thoughts on “So…The Scale-a is a Li-YA!

  1. Alright now! I woke up this morning thinking of a new goal for the upcoming week–eat better than last week. Last week was not the best, but as you once told me, new day, new mercies.

    This is a great post! Let’s do it!

  2. Thanks for being honest and real on this journey to a healthier you. It is amazing the things we learn a bout ourselves and the things we ingest into our temples. Food is our friend but we have to choose to make daily better fresh choices. I also love that you have wrapped prayer and fasting into helping you succeed at weight loss and healthy living. Keep going and you will become who you seek to be in this life.
    #TeamFitAndLean2014
    #FastPrayRunSquat
    Stay well!

Leave a Reply

